Tags

, ,

I think we all know one, or worse, have had to endure one. You know, that annoyingly pretty girl who’s all creative and talented yet tortured and emotionally unstable? Some call them ’quirky’ or ‘a bit different’; I like to just call them crazy. I’m sure I’m being rather unpolitically correct right now, but what the hell I’m going to carry on regardless. I’ve had the pleasure of knowing quite a few of these girls, in fact I’d go as far as to say I seem to naturally attract them as friends. As a pretty levelheaded person, I think my stability and willingness to become an emotional crux is somewhat attractive to them.

If you’ve never had the pleasure of meeting one, there’s a few telltale signs to look out for. They’re usually stunning, quite often promiscuous and extremely good at manipulating just about everyone they come into contact with. They’re often creative, whether it be with their fashion sense, musical talents or designing abilities and almost always witty and sarcastic. I know what you’re thinking, what’s so bad about that right? The one major flaw with girls like this is their emotional stability, or lack thereof. They can literally be the happiest person you’ve ever met one minute, and crying in the bathroom cutting themselves the next. I think 80% of them probably have some kind of undiagnosed bi-polar disorder. Again, some of you may be thinking that this is not necessarily a bad thing, and I do agree to some extent. Their biggest flaw is also their biggest allure.

They’re extremely fun to be around and have an ability to let go more freely and embrace life to its fullest. They’re great at meeting new people, and can make you feel really loved and needed. They’ll do nice things for you, and make you little presents just because ‘you deserve it’. Their enthusiasm for life is infectious, and you can’t help but feel more fun when you’re around them. They’re kinda addictive. At least, this is what it’s like on a good day.

But as with most things, the good comes with the bad, or in their case, the downright suicidal. Their ability to feel so intensely ultimately means they experience extreme bouts of depression and loneliness. When I was younger, I had a friend like this. At first, she seemed like a really funny, loveable person to be around and despite a troubled upbringing seemed to be making the most of her life. One night, I found her unconscious and bleeding to death on her bed from all the cuts she’d made on her arms. I took her to hospital and stayed up all night worrying. The next day, I found out she’d been getting with my then boyfriend behind my back. From that day on, our friendship was never the same. I was still there for her, and helped her through it, but she became increasingly jealous and needy and in the end, I had to cut her out of my life for the sake of my own health. That’s the thing with these girls, when they’re having a down phase, they can literally suck the life right out of you. Like an addiction, they become dependent; your stability is like their cocaine. After a while though, all the things you initially loved about them seem to disappear and what was at first really fun, just turns into one long come down.

Although this is an extreme case, it’s always made me weary of getting too close to girls like this again in the future. The problem I find though, is that for some reason, I’m strangely attracted to this kind of person. Maybe I like all the drama, I’m not sure, but one thing’s certain, you’ll never get bored. And this is why I can kinda understand the appeal of them for guys. I have so many male friends that find themselves trapped in the cycle of falling for this type of girl over and over. As a fairly predictable, easy going girl, it frustrates the hell out of me that pretty much all the guys I seem to like go for these crazies. Yes they’re good looking, and yes they’re ‘quirky’, but do you really want a bunny boiler ex two months down the line? I know all their emotionally charged messages and blog posts seem intriguing now, but come on, do you really want to be the topic of them when things start to take a turn for the worse? And yet, their unstable nature is still devastatingly alluring.

And so, herein lies my dilemma – from a purely singleton perspective, they’re the competition. I want to scream to the world that they’re not as cool as they seem and to date me, the one you can take home to your parents, instead. But from a friendship perspective, they are actually that cool. I find myself going back to these girls again and again because they’re bloody good fun! And who doesn’t want a bit of fun right?

To all the boys wanting to date these mysterious creatures I would advise caution, and say that eventually you’ll realise you’re just getting a bit too old for all this drama and want to settle down with someone who won’t call your dad a sexy fuck. But whilst your young and have got the energy for it, then why the hell not. As for me, I’m going to continue to be friends with these girls for now and just wait around for the days when boys decide stability and loyalty are more attractive. But until then, let’s be honest, I’m pretty much always going to lose in a battle against a quirky, fun loving, creative whore.

