Tags

, , ,

I don’t really hate many things in life, I’d say on the whole, I’m a fairly easy going person. But one thing that really gets me going, is a shitchitter. Or as my friend Matt likes to describe them, ‘those who chat breeze.’

I’m not saying we’ve not all chatted shit about something in our lives at one time or another, because we all have. I’m talking about these people that seem to pride themselves in doing it day in, day out. Having a go and sticking their nose in where it’s not wanted. Always having something to say just for the sake of it and consistently stirring up an argument on purpose.

We all love a good debate now and again, I especially, thrive on talking about something I’m passionate about and constructing a well thought out argument about why I think the way I do. It’s healthy to want to debate and discuss opinions and to try to understand why people have conviction in their beliefs. It’s not healthy however, if all you want to do is partake in the debate, just because you have nothing better to do. I’m a firm believer in the phrase ‘if you don’t have anything decent to say, then don’t say it.’ I just wish more people were too.

I get so frustrated sometimes because I see these people jumping in again and again with their opinions, when no-one really asked for it in the first place. I wouldn’t even really mind that much if what they had to say was justified, but a lot of the time, it’s just empty verbiage. It’s like they think that by shouting it, they’ll somehow get noticed more. I for one notice people for what they say, not how loud they say it. Just because you like the sound of your own voice, doesn’t mean we all do. To quote a line from Save The Last Dance, ‘You talk a lot of shit for someone who never says anything.’

I guess their argument (a joke in itself) could be that if no-one else is going to say something, then why shouldn’t I? A fair comment on first glance, but it’s fundamentally flawed as soon as you find out they actually have no idea what they’re talking about. Just because a lot of people are wary about giving their opinions in the public domain because of how they may be perceived, it doesn’t mean they don’t have them. Next time you think about verbalising an opinion, or feel like commenting on a subject which realistically, you know nothing about, think to yourself – is this actually worth saying? People might not be calling you out about it in public, but trust me, we’re all sat here thinking you’re a bell end.

To these people I would like to say this: be wary. Carry on giving empty opinions for your own entertainment in public, and one day you’ll get caught out by someone who does actually know what they’re talking about, and will make you look like a fool. And then we’ll all laugh.

You have been warned.

